Thanksgiving away from home..

When I first moved to Medicine Hat I had a very hard time adjusting to being away from my family. After Neil and I started school things got a lot easier, we were always busy with schoolwork and going to classes. This seemed like a good distraction until the holidays came around. I was hired at a jewelry store in the mall (Ben Moss) and I was informed that I would be working through Thanksgiving and possibly Christmas too. This absolutely broke my heart, I was looking forward to going back home to visit my family and see all my other friends. I worked through Thanksgiving weekend, we had no turkey supper, and no family, and it really put me in a depressed state.

Hearing everyone in our class talk about how excited they were to go home really made me feel worse. I was extremely jealous, of the people who could go see their grandparents and give their mom/dad a hug.
When I wasn’t at work, I would video call my mom from time to time just to keep myself from actually going insane.

I was very upset through this past weekend, I wished I was home every waking second of the each day. To make it feel more like a holiday Neil and I ran to Walmart and grabbed ourselves a pumpkin pie and some CoolWhip, it was no turkey supper but it was the closest we could get. 

This coming weekend we will be headed over to Neil’s parents in Taber to watch his siblings play in a volleyball tournament. We will be doing lots of visiting which I’m sure will turn my mood around.. We are back at school today so being around our friends and doing some art has definitely making this grumpy girl feel alot better!

Leave a comment