First week of college.

So as my first week progressed my nervousness subsided. The first few days I felt sick to my stomach every morning and hoped I wouldn’t throw up in my first hour class. Throughout the days I started to settle, but I was never confident enough to ask any questions, or go and make any friends. It has been extremely helpful that my boyfriend Neil is taking the same course and classes as me. He is definitely comforting when I’m feeling alone or anxious. I feel it is very important to have that sense of safety and security while being in a new environment.

Although having Neil by my side is wonderful, I have noticed with the other first year VisCom students, they don’t really engage with us as much as the other students. This could be for multiple reasons, they could possibly feel uncomfortable because we are a couple and would feel they are intruding. Or even perhaps because they themselves are still nervous about the whole “college” thing and are feeling uncomfortable, Like I mentioned this is the first week so I can only expect things to get better.

Our first Drawing 1 class was today, where we drew still life using only charcoals. I was initially nervous about this exercise because I was never a huge fan of still life, or charcoal to be brutally honest. I have used charcoal in the past but only for deeper shadings and other grey values due to its blending ability, but drawing with it and it being our only medium was tough for me. This particular class is 3 hours, so our instructor encourages us to get up, stretch, take a break, and even go look at others pieces. I was very impressed with the artistic ranges I have seen so far from the other first years, you could find voice in their drawings. Everyone has different styles and from what I saw today I can’t wait to experience the other pieces my classmates can produce over the next 3 years.

Over the past week I feel I have become more relaxed, I’m not crazy nervous before all my classes, and my number of anxious belly aches have decreased. Everyone Neil and I have met so far is extremely nice and easy to talk to, I see the both of us making great friends that will last us a life time. Overall, we are excited to continue our studies and expect big things from our classmates!

Leave a comment